Spring brings change here on the homestead

2 Comments

After working night shift yesterday, I stopped by Lowes and picked up a few supplies to finish the remainder of our Spring projects.  After a short nap, my hubby and I were ready to get to work.

After a few too many times of coming home and seeing this:

IMG_0857

We decided to make a few changes around here.  With the coming of the piglets (hopefully not too far off now), we re-homed the goats.  Due to their naughty nature, I didn’t want them disturbing Lady-Bug as she labors.  They also didn’t contribute anything to the homestead and we don’t want to have animals that don’t earn their keep, so to speak!  There was also one ridiculous morning which began with the goats completely destroying the chunnel and ended with me football tackling one to catch it.  Not one of the more peaceful mornings around here.

After the goats were picked up by their new owners, we set to work on making the fence electric to finally end all of the escapes.  The new flock of chickens will be kept in here also, so we are eventually going to turn one of the old goat houses into a chicken coop.  The chicks are growing like weeds.

IMG_0937

Solstice has been staying in the house at night, but exploring the pig pen during the day.  Princess is still mean as a snake to her and Solstice is still as mean as a snake to the chicks, so we are still having chicken drama around here.  Solstice, however, is incredibly bonded to me and when I come into the pen, she races over to me wanting to be picked up.  It’s super cute.

After a few hours of work on the electric fence (and my sweet husband for volunteering to see how strong it was.  Ps. It’s strong).  We had success.  It didn’t take long for Houidini to touch it and make it known it was not pleasant.

As the sun disappeared from behind the trees, the temperature dropped dramatically.  They are calling for low 20’s tonight which is not a very welcome to Spring attitude!

After a hard days work and a delicious (if I do say so myself) meal of homemade feta, sun-dried tomato and spinach stuffed chicken breast, baked potatoes, veggies and garlic bread we decided to build a fire from all of the sticks we cleaned up from the pig pen.  It was so peaceful and pleasant to spend some quiet time with my hubby by the fire.

IMG_0922

Houidini, being the gentleman that he is (unless peanut butter is involved), built a warm nest for him and Lady-Bug to snuggle in last night since it was so chilly.

IMG_0924  IMG_0925

The dogs spent the day running like crazy ones around the homestead.  They finally ended up falling asleep upstairs with us.

IMG_0935

All in all it was a busy first day of Spring, but we are finally getting close to being at the end of our big Spring projects.  Happy Spring everyone!

Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Spring brings change here on the homestead

  1. Hello there! I just wanted to let you know that I think you’re blog and farm is just so cute. I love reading up on what all you’re doing and trying at your farm. The chicks are so adorable! And I can’t wait to see them grow up! 🙂

    I know you’re a new blogger just as I am but so far good job with your blog, it’s turning out to be one interesting & cute one! And I just want to let you know that:

    I nominated you for the Liebster Award! 🙂

    http://forestmtnhike.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/liebster-award/

  2. Good afternoon forestmtnhike! Thank you SO much for the nomination and words of encouragement, that means the world to me! This has been such a fun adventure so far. I have enjoyed reading your blog as well, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a wonderful day : )

Leave a Reply

