Whew.

2 Comments

Yesterday was a day full of hard work and exhaustion.  After getting off in the morning from my fourth night in a row in th ER, I knew there was much to be done around the homestead before I could get some rest.

Besides the normal homesteading duties, I wanted to get all the crops in the ground as well as build the pallet chicken coop.

Check out the pallet chicken coop HERE.  It didn’t cost me anything and was fun to design and build.

collage2

As I pushed hard to not fall asleep while I was putting the green sprigs of seedlings into the earth, I took in the sights and smells.  We have all been wishing for Spring weather, and it seems Mother Nature delivered in full force.  Temperatures have been in the high 70s this week.  Looks like with everyone’s complaining she decided to skip Spring and give us summer!

In our raised beds I planted seedlings and seeds. The roll call is as follows:

  • Corn
  • Beans
  • Okra
  • Eggplant
  • Broccoli
  • Squash
  • Tomatoes
  • Bell Peppers
  • Radish
  • Garlic
  • Carrots
  • Pumpkin

It will be exciting to see what grows and what doesn’t.  Each new harvest brings many lessons learned.  I did a lot more prep work to the soil this year.  I still have viking potatoes, strawberries, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, blueberries and a fig tree elsewhere on the homestead.

The fig tree has really flourished with the 70 degree weather.

IMG_1094

The animals have been adjusting to the hot weather.  The chickens were all hiding under the shade of the coop and panting heavily most of the afternoon yesterday.  I made sure everyone had lots of fresh, cold water.

The pigs dug a huge hole and were laying in the cool earth.  I sprayed a bit of water in it for them to wallow in (pigs don’t have sweat glands and this is how they stay cool) and they loved it.  Lady-Bug covered her whole swollen belly in the mud.

I also built them a raised water area so their water will stay clean longer.

IMG_1087

(This was before it was fully put together and cut to fit-they were anxious to try it!)

I am going to purchase a baby pool for them to soak in to help them survive the probable extreme summer we will have.

After all the work was done outside, I cleaned up a bit in the house and prepared a few dozen eggs for a customer.  With each purchase of eggs I sell, a little flicker in my heart grows.  It gives me hope that my dreams and goals are really coming true.

After 36 hours of being awake and working, I finally got to hit the hay.

Tonight is my last shift for a few days and I am grateful for the break the weekend brings.  We are taking a short trip to PA to celebrate my hubby’s grandmother’s 90th birthday.  The change of scenery and break from the hard work around here will be welcome.

Good luck to everyone planting this week!

Until next time…

 

2 thoughts on “Whew.

Leave a Reply

