Peace & Muck Boots

13 Comments

rain-boots3

Where as most women have a favorite pair of heels (which of course I do too), I would have to say that my muck boots are one of my most favorite items I own.

Of course I don’t just have plain old black muck boots.  Mine are black with cute little colored hearts all over-and a buckle at the top (accessories are important even where muck boots are concerned).

It may sound silly, but when I slip my bare feet into their cool, slick insides, I feel a sense of calm and comfort.  I know that for at least the next few minutes, I will be outside in the fresh air doing what I love the most; tending to my little homestead.

My mind shifts directions and settles.  With my muck boots on, the bills that need to be paid float away, the multitude of responsibilities of adult life subside temporarily.  I walk with peace and purpose.

The peace that washes over me with my muck boots on is much different than the emotions I feel when I slip my knee-high compression socked feet (no varicose veins for this girl) into my Dansko clogs.  With my Danskos on, I am focused and serious.  I am all business-mixed with exhaustion and prayers that the next 12 hours won’t be totally brutal.

Although muck boots are a bit of a spiritual experience in themselves, they are also super practical.  They protect my legs from the itchy, wet grass.  They are also great for walking through the ridiculous mud that accumulates in our pig pen.  When Houidini is feeling less than pleased at his isloation from his woman, it protects my calves from his grumpy nips.  When I dash out to the pig pen in the wee hours of the night to check on Lady-Bug for the millionth time, hoping she is having those darn piglets, they are easy to slip on.

This redhead is full of muck boot love.  If you don’t have a pair of muck boots, I highly recommend you purchase a pair and stomp around in the mud for awhile-it just might change your life.

HRSignature

13 thoughts on “Peace & Muck Boots

  1. My muck boots are black of course and my wife says I look silly in them with my shorts. She doesn’t realize how many pairs of sneakers she has that has been ruined because they’ve been stained with red clay mud. I love the fact I can stand up and just slip into them to run out and check the mail when it rains and so on.

  2. I would love to hear from others on muck boots that last! I’m with you-they are my most utilized tool, but I go through a pair every 45 days or so. They fall apart on me whether they were expensive or cheap!

  3. Oh Dear Redhead, why did you have to go and mention compression stockings, innocent though you meant it. I had my right hip replaced 4-18 and have been wearing the thigh high ones ever since. They “forgot” to teach my poor husband how to put them on me at the hospital and it was just a horror, sending me back to the ER in agony. It was taking him over 20 minutes just to force them over my heel and I was terrified with all the pushing he’d done, he had dislocated the appliance. He hadn’t but he was finally shown the tricks of putting them on. Now I should be able to find him a job in a nursing home he has gotten so good! I finally was able to stop wearing them today. Hooray!!!!!

  4. I can totally relate! I have a pair of Sloggers for the garden and every time I slip them on I know I am getting ready to get my hands dirty in the garden.

    Velva

  5. I have a pair of hot pink boots with lime green dots. I wear them when I visit my son’s farm. I sit on the back steps and when I put them on I become Farmer Girl. I ride around on the ATV checking the chickens, the gardens, the dog and they protect my feet and legs from mud, wet weeds and thorns when I go out to pick wild dewberries and blackberries. They protect from stings when I help work the bee hives.
    I live in town, but all the town gals are now wearing them when it rains. WE BE LOOKING GOOD!

      • I just found your website. Also a readhead. Raised in the country and now live in town. Hate it, but I married a city boy, so I just pretend my backyard is a tiny farm. Trying to talk the husband into having chickens. Keep up the good work.

      • Thank you so much 🙂 Keep trying, show him lots of pictures of how cute chicks are and if that doesn’t work promise him lots of home made breakfasts in bed with their fresh eggs hehe

Leave a Reply

