Farm Girl Namaste

6 Comments

Over the last few months, my stress level has gradually crescendoed.  I really hadn’t been aware of it until recent weeks.  With increased pressure at work, the challenges of marriage, bills, farm life, keeping up with friends & family, health issues, I had turned into one redheaded ball of stress.  I knew it was time to do some serious self assessment when some teenage kid in the store purposely ran into my shopping cart and my immediate desire was to return this oh so pleasant action with serious bodily harm (luckily I resisted so no I am not writing this from jail).

As a nurse, one would think I would be aware of what my body is trying to tell me.  If you know a nurse (particularly if you are married to one) you know that nurses make the worst patients.  We will ignore some minor health issue until it literally knocks us off our feet.  This is not because we an attitude of invincibility, but because typically we are so busy taking care of everyone else there isn’t any time or energy left to care for ourselves.

My typical de-stress techniques weren’t cutting it and I still felt frustrated and exhausted.  What’s a farm girl to do when her clucking chickens are no longer a place of peace?  I found my answer in an unusual place.

I happened upon (divine intervention I am sure) a lovely little yoga studio in a neighboring town.  I looked up their class schedule and decided to book a class.  I have always heard such positive things about yoga.  I know many people with physical ailments who have experienced healing with yoga.  I also know many people with high stress levels have benefited from the calming, centering peace yoga can bring.  I figured, why not? If I didn’t do something about my stress level, even my chickens would have left the homestead to get away from the crazier than usual redhead who feeds them.

As I entered the studio, I was instantly aware of the stillness.  There were people moving around in the studio, but their was such a sense of calm.  There are not a whole lot of places in my life that exist in calm.  The emergency room is certainly the opposite of calm and the constant noise and movement of the homestead isn’t the stillness type of calm I felt in the studio.

I also love that everyone was barefoot-for some reason being barefoot just seems to natural and freeing to me.

As my intimate class began, I followed the instructor as she moved us through ujjayi breathing (breathing like you are fogging up a mirror) and challenging poses.  Moving through these poses I really got an understanding of how much tension I was carrying around in my body.  The stretches and moves were extremely challenging, but in a positive way.

yoga

For the next hour and fifteen minutes, I stayed completely present which is a big accomplishment for me.  My mind is typically bouncing around from topic to topic like a ping pong ball.  I routinely feel like this…

plates_phone_cropped

Do you ever feel like this too?  At the end of my session I felt absolutely wonderful.  My muscles were fatigued, but my mind was quiet and calm.  I love those words-quiet and calm.  That feeling lasted throughout much of the evening.

I have already scheduled my next class and am grateful I found something productive, besides physically assaulting a rude teenager in the store, to bring my stress level down.

What works for you?

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

6 thoughts on “Farm Girl Namaste

  1. This is a great post! I am nurse, but soon leaving the nursing field to travel and blog, and can totally relate with nurses making the worst patients.
    We ignore things that normally would put us on alert if we noticed them in others.
    It’s amazing how stress can consume a person and really just take over our lives mentally and physically.
    That’s awesome that you found yoga. I’ve dabbled into it but never really given it a whole lot of attention. I know I would instantly be hooked if I started taking regular classes.
    I really like your blog. You can be sure that you will comments from me in the future ; )

    • Great to meet you Kristin! I am so glad you stopped by the homestead. You are exactly right-us nurses can be a stubborn breed! What an amazing adventure you are about to start-I can’t wait to read about your journey. Safe travels!

  2. Yoga is indeed a great way to de-stress. I do not have the time to join a yoga class. OKay I am just not a joiner. LOL I have an hour and a half monthly massage to destress from farming and raising chickens and rabbits. A long massage relaxes your muscles and your mind. I live in a small town and have a wonderful massage therapist who works at a reasonable rate.

  3. I have a question! My daughter just started her 3rd year nursing classes this week, and she keeps telling me that there are lots of parasites – like the kind that can get into your lungs, or brain, lol, that can be in the dust of a chicken coop. She wants me to use a face mask when I’m in there. I concur, lots of dust, but it’s so dang hot and stuff in there that I am not comfortable wearing a mask, or even a bandana, when cleaning.
    So, from your experienced nursing position, what are your thoughts or knowledge/practices on that?
    Thanks!

    • Hello there! Thank you for your thoughtful question. There is some truth in your daughter’s concerns. It is not recommended for folks with severe environmental allergies, COPD, asthma or other resp diseases to be around the dust and dander of a chicken coop. I have never heard of parasites from chickens infecting someone’s lungs or brain-although there are plenty of parasites in the environment that can do this, have you ever watched the show Monsters Inside Me? Chickens can definitely have worms, but as long as proper hand hygiene is utilized, they will not harm humans. Ventilation is super important not only for the chicken’s health but your health as well inside a coop. Depending on your coop size, I wouldn’t recommend spending long hours inside breathing in the dust and chicken poo fumes. Overexposure to these things can definitely affect your lung health. You could see if your daughter could get you a mask from the hospital (not a N95, but just what is worn for flu symptoms), they are fairly breathable and can ease your daughter’s mind. I personally avoid long periods of time in the midst of the chicken poo without a mask-or at least my shirt over my nose and I would recommend the same just do the the dust and fumes. I don’t know of any evidence that states a human could contract brain eating parasites from our feathered, egg laying friends. Hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

