Cheap, Easy, Gravity Fed Chicken Feeders

8 Comments

It has been a productive week here on the homestead!  With the cooler temperatures here to stay, I have been busy winterizing the chicken coops.  I can’t stand working in the freezing temperatures, so I have been hustling to get these chores done before the weather turns too cold for me.

I finally took down Ladybug’s farrowing pen made of pallets and rearranged the Pig Pen chicken area. They now have much more space to roam, several more day time roosts that strategically catch the morning sun and a feeding and watering station.  With the feeding and watering station in place, all of their food and water is in one area so it makes it easier to do morning chores.  The less time I have to spend outside in the winter the better!

IMG_2672

The station has a roof and is behind one the little houses in their pen so it will be protected from the majority of the elements.  I also put in a new access gate that is closer to the well, which makes it easier for watering the girls.

I also finally joined up the Crib Coop to the Original Girls’ chunnel and so far it has worked beautifully.  I expanded the chunnel so the girls have plenty of space to roam.  The chunnel has been my favorite and most useful addition to the homestead (read all about it HERE).

IMG_2666

I also made these fantastic little PVC pipe feeders.  They are only a few dollars and take a few minutes to make.  I think they would look super cute painted to match the Crib Coop (Want to know what a crib coop is? Check out the original post HERE), I just didn’t have time to get around to it yet.

IMG_2688

I needed to make a feeder that was protected from the elements (weather, deer etc) and was easily accessible for filling in the winter.  These feeders have worked great so far.

To make these gravity PVC feeders:

Materials:

  • PVC Pipe (I bought the already cut sections from the local hardware store)
  • Caps (These were $0.71)
  • Plastic Containers (tupperware)
  • Screws
  1.  Cut the PVC pipe to desired length, make sure to smooth out on of the ends so the cap will fit securely.
  2. Make a small, rectangular cut at the bottom of PVC pipe.  This is for the grain to gravity feed out.  The bigger the hole, the faster the grain will dispense.  You know I didn’t measure mine, but it is around 2 inch by 1 inch.
  3. Place into plastic container and secure with screws.  It took 3 screws at various angles for my feeders.
  4. Secure feeder to coop.

IMG_2685 IMG_2683 IMG_2684

Four easy steps and you have endless possibility for customizing.  If you have ever seen the PVC pipe feeders with the open elbow shaped end, this method causes a lot of food waste.  The container method helps reduce this.

I made a specific spot in the Crib Coop for these so I cut some of the bars and cattle wire to make a home for these feeders.  I secured with chain so I can easily remove the chain and fill them.  With a traditional design of a chicken coop (not a child’s crib like this one is) you could permanently secure the PVC feeder to the coop because all that would be needed to fill them is to remove the cap, not the whole feeder.

IMG_2686

I am very pleased with these feeders! Easy, cheap and effective-what’s not to love!

Today holds another enthusiastic to do list-wrap the chicken coops with plastic for heat containment, make laundry detergent, clean, do laundry-the list goes on.  Life on a homestead, wouldn’t have it any other way!

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

8 thoughts on “Cheap, Easy, Gravity Fed Chicken Feeders

  1. Pingback: Easy as C.H.I.C.K.E.N.S | homesteadredhead

Leave a Reply

