Leaves, leaves everywhere

7 Comments

For the first time this season, it finally feels like fall officially has set in.  Not only is it a breezy, cool day, but there are now thousands of brown and orange leaves dotting our green grass.

image

This week, the Black Copper Marans have started laying their lovely chocolate eggs.  I haven’t tasted them yet, but I cant wait to.  Since I have been working a bit extra this week, the free range girls have been contained in the Chunnel.  This forced together time has seemed to get them more acquainted.  The Black Copper Marans are actually using the Original Girls’ Nesting boxes and occasionally roosting with them at night.  Ideally this is what I was hoping would happen so they can be extra warm when the cold weather comes.

I haven’t been able to get a hold of the vet to come and neuter Houidini so I me going to try a few others.  Believe it or not, home visiting, pig expert, vets aren’t super easy to find!

My bed seems to be getting a bit crowded these days.  When I get home from night shift, Oliver snuggles under one arm, Gunner on the other and Peanut piled in there somewhere.  Oliver insists he be under the covers and touching me in some way.  He is the perfect little heating blanket for these cool mornings.

Halloween is coming soon and I am planning to dress Oliver up and take him trick or treating with my family.  That should be interesting!  Stay tuned to find out what he is going as.

I hope your week is off to a great start.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

7 thoughts on “Leaves, leaves everywhere

  1. AAWW Hugs and snout kisses. Mom can relate to you about finding a good piggy vet. When you find one, hang on to them full force! Can’t wait to see pictures of Houdini dressed up for halloween! I go out with mom/dad every year. It’s a blast! XOXO – Bacon

Leave a Reply

