One Step at a Time

14 Comments

This week has been incredibly hard.  Saying goodbye to my little homestead, my old life, rehoming Houidni and Doyle and saying goodbye to my girls has been one of the most challenging things I have ever gone through.

I know that going through challenging times is a necessary part of life.  I suppose that going through these tough times makes the sweet times of life that much sweeter.  I will survive, but know that this experience will forever alter me in some ways.

Oliver has been quite mischievious this week.  He has wanted nothing to do with anything unless it involves being snuggled up under me on the couch.  He is not allowed on the couch-this is not something he is willing to accept!  You can see how well this battle is going…

pigcouch

If I do not let him on the couch, he will stomp his feet and scream (and I do mean scream) in protest.  He then proceeds to get into anything he can get his snout into as payback.  Needless to say, these days I don’t have much fight left in me, and he usually ends up on the couch!

Things at the big farm are progressing slowly, but surely.  I have been out there several times to walk and get familiar with the land.  My Daddy got the gate put up this week which means we can start moving some of our equipment out there.

The deposit on the barn has been sent in to the builders and we are planning to tour a few local horse farms in the coming week or two to get a better idea of what we want in our barn.

Looking ahead to a happier, healthier future and know I will get there one step at a time.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

14 thoughts on “One Step at a Time

  1. Oh Oliver – you are such a cutie my little friend. Can you believe I used to do the same thing? Now mom just lets me up on the couch. It’s all about piggy battles. Snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  2. Praying for you! And things will get better. You are right…it is difficult to travel through the ‘valleys’ in life but it makes us appreciate the times we are on the mountain tops that much more!

  3. I’m sorry, but I am giggling at the image of Oliver stomping his feet and screaming to get his way! Little piggy tantrum!

  4. To you it was a bad week and I’m sure in many ways it was but looking in from the outside I also get a different take on the events that occured. The positive side is that you are accomplishing several important steps necessary to achieve your final goal.
    There is no such thing as a spoiled pig. They are just stubborn as all get out. Like my grandfather used to say, “you can train a pig to go but can’t train them stop”. They understand yes but no is a foreign word to them.

  5. thoughts and prayers for you during this difficult time. been there, done that. what don’t kill you will make you stronger

  6. I am a Tri County Electric coop and found your articles in the Tri-County news, so informing and aspiring. I admire for you’re loving feeling of wanting a farm and yes a homestead. I myself have a little old 6 acres and always wanted horses, chickens etc. After reading you’re adventures on the Homestead, it makes me believe i can do it too. Thanks and keep on taking care of those animals, Sincerely, from over here in Nahunta.

Leave a Reply

