Real life with a real pig

6 Comments

Life with a pig in the house is never dull.  I am frequently asked question after question about what it is like to be a piggy mama.

The most common question I am asked is “how big will he get?”  I don’t quite understand this constant fascination with the size of miniature pigs, but I blame it mostly on the fact of dishonest breeders who advertise their very young piglets as “teacup” sized and state they will remain that way.  In reality, pigs grow until they are 3-5 years old and are heavily diet dependent.  The more you feed them, the larger they will get.

Most “miniature pigs” are in fact pot bellied or Juliana pigs who have been bred down for several generations.  I would say the average size of most of these miniatures is around 30-50 pounds.  I personally have not seen one smaller than 30 pounds full grown.

Oliver is literally like taking care of a child, it is very time intensive, but it is also very rewarding.  There is nothing better than piggy snuggles.

piglove

He is always, always on the prowl for food.  He could have just eaten his weight in grain and still act just as hungry as if he had not eaten in days.  This has been an obstacle in teaching him more tricks.  He gets so frenzied about the treats, he cannot concentrate enough to learn what he is supposed to be learning!  The saying “eat like a pig” is something you truly appreciate when you are a piggy mama.

Pigs are emotional creatures.  They remember how you treated them a few days ago, they remember that you haven’t been home very much this week and they remember that you pushed them off your lap on the couch because their lip smacking was driving you crazy.  The more time I spend with Oliver, the more well behaved and sweet he is.  He lets me know when I am working too much!

image

Adopting a pig is not a decision one should make on a whim.  Particularly not because of how irresistably cute piglets are when they are very young-making a choice based on their cuteness will not end well.  Adopting a pig is a 15-20 year committment.  Spaying and neutering is also a must.  Pigs are much harder to handle when they are intact.  If you want to know more info about adopting a pig into your family, click HERE.

I got lucky with Oliver, I can list on one hand the things in the house he has destroyed.  A bored pig is a destructive pig, so I make sure he has plenty of interactive toys and things to keep his attention.

Pigs are full of funny quirks.  One of my favorite ones is what happens when you “fork” a pig.  And no, this does not include BBQ sauce!  If you gently poke a pig with a fork they get so relaxed they fall over and go to sleep.  Take a look…

 Forking a Pig

Although they may be smaller than their not so distant relatives the farm hog, house pigs are just as much work.  Pigs definitely bring a unique adventure into your life.  Oliver may drive me crazy sometimes, with his constant search for food, his very loud conversation skills and his unbreakable desire to chew various pieces of my dirty laundry, but I wouldn’t trade his cute little piggy self for anything in the world.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

 

6 thoughts on “Real life with a real pig

  1. There’s my buddy Oliver!! So good to see you my friend. I’ve missed you. Your mom is so right and everything she said. We do need attention – can you believe mom calls me an attention hog? Snorts. Take care and have a fantastic weekend! XOXO – Bacon

  2. How interesting! The characteristics of your baby….remind me of (dare I say) A woman!
    I wonder if….the forking works? It’d be…A nice tool to have!Lol I’m probably….in trouble for that one! Peace & Prayer to Ya! 😉

Leave a Reply

