A New Adventure Begins

9 Comments

Hey ya’ll!  Welcome back to the homestead and welcome to the followers who are just now joining us.  I am so blessed to have you all on this journey with me-I appreciate your support and comments more than you know.

This week we celebrated Oliver’s first birthday.  Although we didn’t do anything super special-I mean he is pretty much spoiled rotten every day of the year anyway-he got plenty of piggy snuggles and treats.

OliBday

I can’t believe a whole year has gone by with him.  What a wild year it has been!  Here is a look into his usual piggy craziness…

Click Me!

I took an amazing trip to a romantic little coastal town this week; Southport, NC.  I instantly fell in love with this little ocean town.  If you have ever seen the movie Safe Haven-Southport is where it was filmed.  I went surf fishing for my first time ever and caught a shark-although this is not typically what you are aiming for when surf fishing-I was thrilled anyway!

sark

It was one of my most favorite trips I have ever taken.  Full of adventure, laughs and quiet moments with only the sounds of the waves rolling in.

Next weekend I am going camping at the New River, which is actually one of the oldest rivers in North America.  This will be my first camping trip of the season and I can’t wait.  There is nothing better than sleeping under a dark sky full of bright, twinkling stars.

Today is the beginning of  a new month and a new journey.  This month I will be leaving the hospital I pretty much called home for the last four and a half years, and am embarking on a new adventure; travel nursing.  My first contract is in a cute little town in Virginia.  While I will only be gone several days a week and home the other days, this is a big step outside my comfort zone.  I am pursuing this new journey to better financially prepare for building my farm house in the coming year.

Speaking of the farm, guess what is getting delivered today? Our barn!!  We are all so excited to finally get the materials on the property and build our dream barn.  I will of course keep ya’ll posted every step of the way.

We also welcomed a sweet, velvety rabbit I named Rosie to the homestead family.  I think every creature needs a companion and Raffi seems to adore her.  She is still getting settled, but is very social and seems to enjoy Raffi’s company as well.

rosie

I have a feeling the next few months will fly by.  With all of these new beginnings swirling around me, I am perfectly content.  Each day I wake up is a new opportunity to embrace and experience all of the wonders this crazy world has to offer, and I don’t want to miss a single thing.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

9 thoughts on “A New Adventure Begins

  1. so happy things are going well. Happy belated Birthday Oliver! looks like fun at the beach, thanks for sharing. You are going to do great don’t worry you are in God’s hands now and he will keep you.

  2. Now you get to change the header on your web page from emergency nursing to roving nursing or something.
    At least you caught something while at the beach. I’ve know a lot of people go surf fishing and come up empty. We love renting a home on the OBX and usually go in spring or fall when the rates are cheaper and the beaches are empty.
    BTW my wife smacked in the back of the head while I was reading your blog and SHE said you looked great in a bathing suit. OK, maybe I hesitated too long before scrolling down to read the rest of the post.

  3. Thanks for sharing your adventures. I am so happy for you and your new beginnings. We live near Southport, NC and it is one of my favorite places to visit. Good food, great shopping, just plain fun. I am so looking forward to seeing your new barn and reading about the farm. Wishing you all things bright and beautiful. Happy Birthday, Oliver!

    Regards, Linda Walters

    • Hello Linda,
      That is so neat you live near Southport. It was such a beautiful place. Oliver says thank you for the birthday wishes and thank you for being a part of the homestead 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday Oliver! That is one Spoiled…..Animal! I was going to say Pig but…..I don’t believe He knows He is one! Lol If there was such a thing as re-incarnation….My Wish would be to become a Pig in your household! (to live like a King) But…I’ve learned to be careful what you wish for cause…I’d probably end up…a pork chop on a plate! Lol
    Seriously though…..So glad to hear about the progress & I Pray the Best for your new career choice! With all the Love & compassion you have for your animals (kids) & from your post…. I know that your patients are truly Blessed to have such A Special Person to care for them. There are lots of nurses out there but….few who Really Love what they do! Even fewer….who treat complete strangers with the same Love & Care they would for their own Family. That takes….A Special person! (Like You) Nice picture of you….Beautiful to the core! Have Fun & be Safe on the New River! Now….your in my neck of the woods! Pray’n Safe Travels & All your Dreams/Desires to Reality! Peace & Prayer to Ya! 🙂

  5. Good morning Homestead. I like Southport also, next time i would highly recommend Beaufort also. It’s right beside Atlantic beach. Since the last time i posted, the Garden has done super well, except for blossom end rot, i think that is a lack of calcium. LOL, i just bought a RV myself, of all places, New River Coach, out of Jacksonville/Richlands. Prob be this fall before i take her on the road, got to get my truck a weight distribution hitch. I hope everything goes well with your new job also. I got my latest Carolina Country mag the other day, but i didn’t see you in there, till next issue and next time, take care, Roland

    • Hello Roland-hope you have had a great weekend! Congrats on the RV, that will be so fun to take trips in. Gardens my way have been suffering from they 100 degree heat and no rain-not the best garden year this year. I should be in next month’s CC 😉

Leave a Reply

