Beach fishin’ and Barn buildin’

4 Comments

I hope ya’ll had a great weekend.  I am headed out soon for another long week in Virginia, but wanted to post an update before hitting the road.

The barn is coming along so well.  They put siding up this week and each day brings so much progress.

photo 2 (13)

I have loved pulling up to the farm and seeing my handsome daddy working so hard out there along side the builders.  He has already done so much work, I am one proud girl!

photo 4 (8)

The pond has been having some serious evaporation issues.  We knew it was fairly shallow, but with the 100 degree summer heat and little rain, it has dried up to almost half its size.  We have plans to dredge it out further so it will be deeper and stock it with more fish for future fishing.  Of course the day before we had a guy out to give us an estimate it rained 4 inches and filled it back up-what can you do!

The huge burn piles are almost gone. Unfortunately, they created a smoky mess and we felt terrible for smoking out our surrounding neighbors.  Thankfully we have one more to go and will be sure it is a very still day before setting the last one off.  The county would have charged us thousands and thousands of dollars to haul it away, so burning was the only good option.

photo 1 (11)

Me and my fella (I have yet to formally introduce him to ya’ll, but promise I will soon!) went beach fishin’ this weekend.  No make-up, a bikini and comfy clothes-what would be better?

photo 1 (12)

Although our catches weren’t anything wall worthy, we had a ton of fun and learned quite a bit from talking with some old fishermen on the pier.  Next year, we are going to get a year beach pass so we can make it a regular trip to go four wheeling on the sand and surf fishing.

If you get Carolina Country magazine, I will have an article in the August edition, so keep a look out for me.  Hope ya’ll have a wonderful week.  Can’t wait to get back home to my critters and my farm!

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

4 thoughts on “Beach fishin’ and Barn buildin’

  1. I read your article in Carolina Country. Don’t sound so sad! I oversaw the building of my home by myself and now have an acre in Emerald Isle to “develop.” It’s kind of nice to be able to make all of those decisions with impunity.lol

Leave a Reply

