A Much Needed Marshy Walk

8 Comments

It was a long week in Virginia.  This was the first week I had a day off in my stent up there and I had big plans of seeing the town.  After getting some sleep, I headed down to start my car, however my car had a much different plan.  Sitting in Virginia, hours away from the people you would normally call to come get you and being very low on funds, is not a good feeling.  After a few hours of phone calls, two car parts shops, scaring a poor car parts store man with my near breakdown into hysterical laughter (because laughing is better than crying right?) and $200 later, my car was back in working order.  Lucky for me, my parents and boyfriend are awesome enough to throw me a life preserver from 400 miles away.

This situation made me appreciate how fortunate I am to have people to call to help me when I need it.  As the afternoon gave way to evening, I was not in the best of moods.  I was feeling like quite a failure and my day of exploring the town had gone to waste.  I was in need of some peace and perspective.

This led me to a local marsh near a large river that has been turned into a nature preserve.  Walking trails follow the river and many of the local folks go there to run and walk their dogs.

I pulled in and immediately took a deep breath.  The sun was sinking in the sky and the air was quiet.  I followed the trails and looked onto lilly pads full of frogs.  I saw lovely marshy grasses where blue herons spoke in low grunts to each other.  With each step deeper into the trails I let go of the very bad day and long week I was having.

marshwalk

marsh2

marshstream

After a few miles, I felt like a new woman.  I had a much better attitude and perspective on the day.  I walked out of the trails with a grateful heart and a smile on my face.

marshsmile

 

Until next time…

 FINALSIGNOFF

 

8 thoughts on “A Much Needed Marshy Walk

  1. They say: Things happen for a reason! No one likes to be told that….especially when it’s happening to you! (I know) But….You never know? That could have prevented a car wreck or simply put you in the path of another to say an encouraging word? The Lord test us in so many ways. (read the book of Job) That’s one test…I probably would’ve failed! Keep Your Head up Pretty Lady….The Lord has So many Wonderful Things in store for You! Your already in a position with your post….to impact so many people who follow you. Your Post are Always….Positive, Inspiring & Uplifting. They Always put A Smile on my face….to start my Day! I wrote a Poem & one of the phrases in it was: “Give the Gift that keeps Giving…through the life that you live.
    For the True Gift is in….Your Willingness to Give!”
    You My Friend…are A Giver!
    Anyways…..That’s all I got!
    Peace & Prayers too You & All 🙂

    • I can’t tell you how much your post meant to me. Thank you so much for the wonderful words. I am so blessed to have such wonderful readers. Your poem was beautiful-you definitely have a way with words. I hope you have a wonderful week : )

Leave a Reply

