Maiden Kayak Voyage

3 Comments

This week Neil and I headed to Jordan Lake to enjoy our new kayaks.  As we packed up our camping gear, the rain poured and the air was chilly.  Determined to press on and having faith in the weather prediction of less rain as the day went on, we headed out.

image

We found our campsite and it backed right up to Jordan Lake.  This spot was awesome because we could launch our kayaks right from the site.

We unpacked all our gear and started to set up camp.  The rain poured.  We got up our massive canopy and were able to keep our supplies from getting totally soaked.  Luckily we had stopped and bought some rain gear before we arrived.

image

As we finished getting everything set up, the rain lessened, a little.  Since we were already soaked, we decided to go ahead and launch the kayaks.  The lake was so wild, there were whitecaps showing.  We had the huge lake all to ourselves.

Neil helped me get settled in my kayak and launched me off the bank so I wouldn’t have to get my boots wet.  I had to paddle hard to get through the current to get away from the bank.

As we paddled out into the swirling lake, it felt exactly like being out on the ocean.  The waves were crashing up over my kayak and the wind blew the rain into my face.

As we pressed on, the rain settled and we ended up having a blast.  We were soaking wet and exhausted, but laughing and happy.

image

The next day we took the fishing rods out, but didn’t have much luck.  We paddled out for a few miles and enjoyed the stillness of the lake.  It was such a contrast to the day before.

Packing up the gear and heading home, my heart was full of joy.  There was a time in my life the wind and the rain would have made me miserable and soured the entire trip, but at this point in my life I couldn’t be happier.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

3 thoughts on “Maiden Kayak Voyage

Leave a Reply

