Love That Knocks You Over

8 Comments

For those of you that have been on the homestead for awhile and read my articles in Carolina Country (catch up HERE), I love spending time with my Papa and Grandma. Papa and Grandma are my daddy’s parents.

They owned and worked on the big dairy farm, along with my great grandparents, in Chapel Hill.  My Papa is suffering from Alzheimer’s and this has been extremely hard on the family, especially Grandma.  Papa recently made a move to an assisted living facility, while my grandma remained at their house.

My grandparents have been married for 69 years.  That’s nearly 5,000 days spent together.  That’s literally a lifetime of living, learning and growing together.

The story of how they met is one of my very favorites of all time.  After a long week’s work, my grandma and her friends went out to a local bar to get a drink.  As she chatted and relaxed with her friends, a flying cigarette landed right in her beer.  Outraged at this, she looked around and demanded to know whose cigarette landed in her beer.

A young, enlisted army soldier made his way to the table to apologize.  That soldier was my Papa.  That act of fate brought four children into this world, four grandchildren and six great grand children.  That flying cigarette set into motion a chain of events that forever altered the universe.

I spent the day with my grandma last week and we had a lovely lunch, cooked dinner together and visited Papa.  He showed me all around his new place and excitedly told me all about his new friends.  We looked at a scrapbook of all his accomplishments and just enjoyed simple conversation.  As Grandma and I got ready to leave Papa, who is in his nineties, jumped up to walk us out.  Grandma asked him for a kiss and he excitedly pulled her to him.  They kissed so hard it nearly knocked them both to the ground.

After 90 years of life and 69 years of marriage, their love still nearly topples them over. True love is such a rare creature in this world, cleverly disguised and showing itself to only to a precious few.

Every day can bring a new adventure, a twist of fate that changes the universe forever.  I’ve learned to embrace the detours of life because they have always wound up teaching me a lesson I’ll never forget.

image

Until next time,

FINALSIGNOFF

8 thoughts on “Love That Knocks You Over

  1. I respect and applaud you for the love you share with your grandparents. Thanks for sharing your grandparents love story. What a wonderful way to brighten a day.

Leave a Reply

