One Week Anniversary of House Ownership

8 Comments

Today marks the one week anniversary of Neil and I owning the Little Rock House and what a week it has been!  Within one hour of closing, we were at the house getting to work.

patchceiling

The house was definitely livable (although my definition of clean is obviously much different than the previous owners), but not at all our style.

The walls were various shades of pink, neon purple and neon blue with pretty awful dark blue shag carpet.  There is literally different flooring in every single room.  What we thought was hardwood, was actually laminate.

The first huge project was the painting.  Those neon purple walls had to go.  We hired an awesome painting crew I used in my previous house, and they got the job done in two days.  Just with painting, the house began to feel warm and inviting and starting to look like a home for our family.

kitchenbefore&afterEvery light fixture, faucet, floor (except two rooms), kitchen counter, switch plate, appliance, toilet and lock had to be replaced.

toilet

unnamed

We have been to Home Depot and Lowes more in the last week than I have in my entire life times ten.  Pretty much after every trip our car looked like this…

packedcar

We are trying to do as much work ourselves as we can to save money.  We did hire painters and are having our granite counter tops professionally installed.  We have a beautiful copper farm sink we also had installed since it is such a unique piece.  The counter tops should be installed in a week or two.

coppersink

Neil and some of his friends are redoing the kitchen cabinets and Neil and I will be our own flooring crew for the master bedroom, office, kitchen and dining room.  We pulled up plenty of nasty carpet, which was much easier than I excepted.  The only really not fun part of removing the carpet is pulling up the staples used to secure the under-pad.  After pulling about a hundred or more staples, I would say I am officially an expert staple remover.

carpetremove 

Removing the linoleum floor was awful.  Definitely the worst project we have encountered so far.  After smashing my finger twice with the crowbar, I left that hard core demo project to Neil.  After a few hours he was half way done.  I was definitely glad to not be a part of that project.

linolieum floor

We spent 10-12 hour days at the Little Rock House this weekend.  We were both off all weekend and the time together was productive and so much fun.  Despite all the projects, decisions and work, we made sure to take some time out to enjoy each other’s company.  Just down the road from the new house is this amazing little artsy town with a theater, general store that serves only organic, farm fresh food, a pub that brews their own beer and a great view of the river.  We had a great dinner at the general store one night and I look forward to many date nights there in the future.

Although this week has been jammed full of sweat, finger slamming and heavy lifting, I am feeling utterly blessed.  My life is not at all as I pictured it would be around this time last year.  So much has changed in the last 12 months, pretty much every aspect of my life has been transformed.  I can’t help but see the symbolism in the transformation of the Little Rock House.  I can’t wait to see what the next 12 months brings.

Stay tuned for more renovations and adventures!

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

 

8 thoughts on “One Week Anniversary of House Ownership

  1. Just by jumping in and working hard yourself proves your a farm girl. Looks great and I know you’ll appreciate the home even more knowing you did a lot of the work yourselves to get it the way you want. Looking for more photos of the progress you make.

  2. Renovations sure can be hard but so worth it! I’m really excited for you and can’t wait to see more! It’ll all turn out great! I look forward to all your posts! Have a Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

