We Survived!

4 Comments

Welcome back to the homestead!

Today marks one week since Neil’s big surgery and he is doing wonderful.  Thank you all so much for the well wishes and prayers.  Although the hospital will probably have paths carved into their carpets for eternity from my pacing while he was in surgery, everything went well.  We ended up staying overnight due to some minor complications, but were able to go home the next day.  I have very rarely been in a hospital unless I was there to work, and being on the other side of things was definitely a different experience.

Being on the nurse side of the door, it is easy to forget just how stressful it is to have a loved one sick or injured.  I could barely tolerate one night in the hospital with Neil, I can’t imagine how difficult it is to have a loved one there for an extended period of time.  Luckily, one of my best friends lives one house away so she was able to care for Peanut, Oliver and Lilly (who was very upset we did not come home) so I didn’t have to leave Neil’s side. 

With the surgery behind us and Neil healing so well, I am hoping life will return to some kind of organized rhythm soon.  The last few months have definitely taken a toll on me.  With such a high stress level, a terrible diet (I mean I seriously have been eating Jello for breakfast this week), and very little sleep I am starting to look just as fatigued as I have felt these last few months.  I am so excited to be coming off night shift and hopefully establishing a much healthier lifestyle.

Now that the majority of the inside projects at the Little Rock House are completed, I will soon be able to turn my focus to the outside.  I am going to be posting the official before and after remodel blog this week so stay tuned for that-I can’t wait to see what ya’ll think.

We have had some lovely 65 degree days here in North Carolina and that warm sunshine started to awaken my spring fever.  We have big plans for establishing the Little Rock House Homestead, an awesome chicken coop-and of course reuniting this chicken loving redhead with her favorite feathered animals, fire pit oasis and garden are in the very near future.  Oliver enjoyed the warm days sunning himself on his very own porch.

image

As the first month of 2015 comes to a close, I hope you have started on some exciting new adventures too.  I would love for you to share them with me!

Until next time…

 FINALSIGNOFF

4 thoughts on “We Survived!

  1. praise God everything is ok and we pray for a speedy recovery and we also pray for peace in your mind and body as you move forward with your plans together. Praying God’s best for you and your wonderful family.

  2. Pingback: 2015 in Review | homesteadredhead

Leave a Reply

