National Pig Day 2015

7 Comments

To celebrate National Pig Day 2015, I thought it would be fun to take a walk down memory lane.

Oliver is now almost two years old, and life with him has been a wild ride.  When I first decided to get an indoor pig, I was only moderately prepared for what life with a pig would involve.  This was the first picture I saw of little Oliver.

newpig

He arrived at the airport and was a tiny bundle of piggy snorts.  One thing that I wasn’t prepared for was the amount of screaming that owning a pig involves (mostly the pig, sometimes me!).  Pigs are extremely vocal and if they don’t like something they will let you know it no uncertain terms.  A pig “scream”  is straight out of a horror movie.  It is loud and high pitched and will make your ears ring for hours.

We had a Welcome Piggy party, but he wasn’t too interested.  The human guests sure had a good time though!  I made a special piggy cake which was a lot of fun, as well as all kinds of piggy themed snacks.

IMG_2324

IMG_2323

It took quite awhile for him to settle into our family.  He was very nervous and it took hours of spending time with him before he learned we meant no harm.  Litter box training was not too challenging, once he learned it was for pooping, not sleeping!

IMG_2286

Oliver’s two favorite things are sleeping and eating.  He does quite a bit of both!

IMG_2295

IMG_2633

IMG_2652

image

Oliver has always been a handful and now he is topping the scales at 75 pounds.  Although he is a miniature pig, he is still not tiny by any means.  I am very grateful for the time I spent with him when he was younger, training and bonding.  I would not want to try and establish discipline with a previously untrained, very strong, 75 pound pig!

pigsmile

image

badoliver

SnowPig2

Life with Oliver is never dull and I plan to give this big boy lots of special treats to celebrate National Pig Day.  No matter how big he gets, he will always have a place in my family-and my lap!

image

Enjoy this special piggy day.  Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

7 thoughts on “National Pig Day 2015

  1. Awwwwww I love hearing about Oliver! I can’t believe he weighs that much:)) Thanks for sharing……

Leave a Reply

