Spring Fever Big Time

4 Comments

I am suffering from an awful case of Spring Fever, and I mean awful.  I am not sure if it is the fact that I am used to working nights, so I never missed out on all this beautiful spring weather, or if it is just because I have an ongoing list of homestead projects I really want to be doing-whatever the case may be I have got it bad.

Sitting in my office, I can feel the warm sunshine and watch the breeze dance with the branches of the trees outside my window.  During my lunch break, I can be found wandering the aisles of a local nursery, my head becoming even more full of project ideas.

This weekend was slammed full of projects, and Neil and I are both grateful to be coming to the end of two very big projects-the garden and the chicken run.

We finally got the garden fenced in and planted and we even have a little room to spare for some more tasty veggies.  Here in the heart of North Carolina, there is pretty much no point in planting without a fence.  We are over-run by deer around here and they will devour most anything that is green.

garden

This year we planted a few kinds of lettuce, broccoli, onions, cucumbers, strawberries, habaneros, jalapenos, and a few varieties of tomatoes.  We are looking forward to some home grown, organic veggies in a few months (as well as saving some money on our grocery bill!).

The chicken run is coming together and I am so pleased.  It looks better than I could have pictured, and Neil has done an amazing job.  We roofed in one section of the coop this weekend and I also stained the door frame.

run1

I bought two gorgeous rustic pots which will house Rosemary bushes to go on either side of the door.  Not only do they look nice, but they will help disguise the sometimes very fragrant chickens who will be living behind the door!

door

The breeder with the possible frizzles has emailed me confirmation that 3 of the nearly 20 chicks he has hatched are in fact frizzles.  I am thrilled.  Frizzles are super rare and I feel so lucky to have tracked some down.  We are hoping to bring them home in the next few weeks.  Let’s hope my current flock of girls takes them in without too much cluckin’ and fussin’.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

4 thoughts on “Spring Fever Big Time

  1. Nice job on the door Red ! : )

    homesteadredhead wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com homesteadredhead posted: “I am suffering from an awful case of Spring Fever, and I mean awful.  I am not sure if it is the fact that I am used to working nights, so I never missed out on all this beautiful spring weather, or if it is just because I have an ongoing list of homestea”

Leave a Reply

