Moments

6 Comments

Moments.  Life is full of millions of these.  Some days seems to fly by in a blur of scattered moments.

There are some moments in time that will stand out as defining moments in your life.  Moments where everything suddenly changed.  Moments where a chain of events were set into motion you never anticipated.

As a nurse I have bared witness to complete strangers’ defining moments.  Sketches in time they will never forget, even if they want to.  I am cemented in the periphery of their memory while they are hearing that their wife, or husband or baby did not make it.

These foundation cracking moments are not hard to hold on to.  But those moments in time that are good, seem to be more elusive when committing them to memory.

Having the knowledge of the multitude of awful moments one can experience, I use this as a tool to remember how important it is to hold on to good moments as tightly as you can.

Moments that aren’t particularly grand, but perfect in their own simplicity.

I am blessed in my life to have many moments like this committed to my memory.

One of my very favorites occurred just this week.  Neil was sweaty and sunburnt from a long day of SWAT training.  My scrubs were stained from caring for an unexpected critical patient that day.

We sat in the cool grass as the sun set before us, our hands intertwined.  Our baby goats stood a few feet from us grazing peacefully.  As we carried out easy conversation, I couldn’t help but feel completely overwhelmed by the sheer contentment I felt in this quiet, simple moment of perfection.

What good moments do you hold on to?

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

6 thoughts on “Moments

  1. Those moments of contentment can be called Sabbath time, a rest from all the goings-on in the world. A time to “Be still and know that I am God.” To take away one word of that Psalm as you repeat it give you a moment to be content.
    Be still and know that I am
    Be still and know that I
    Be still and know that
    Be still and know
    Be still and
    Be still
    Be

    Gives you a chance to pause in life and just be……….

Leave a Reply

