Concluding Year 28

8 Comments

It has been a good week. I have worked hard in the ER all week, and we were still able to get things done around the homestead.

We added a dust bath to the Chicken Palace to help keep pests off the girls.  We combined Diatomaceous Earth and dirt in a dish tub.  We buried this slightly so it wouldn’t tip over when the girls hopped up on the side.  Dust bathing is super important for chickens, it helps them fight off pests that live on their skin.

dustbathe

We also added grit, which helps them digest food in their crop, and oyster shell, since the girls are only 6 weeks away from laying age!

Our garden is producing literally hundreds of tomatoes, I have never seen so many tomatoes on a plant before.  It is like a tomato jungle in our raised bed garden.

tomatoe

Oliver and I spent some quality time together this week.

candidpig

However, shortly after, Oliver ate my entire kiwiberry plant I have been nurturing for months, and I almost turned him into kiwiberry flavored bacon.  Luckily for him, I think he is pretty cute.

Poor Sawyer got terribly sick this week with the 100 degree weather, but with some extra care, a fan and a big bottle of ice water to lay up against, he turned around in a few days.

goatpeek

Neil and I are working on an exciting new feature to add to Homestead Redhead, and I can’t wait to share it with you.  It is going to be super fun!

On Monday, I officially begin my last year in my twenties.  Getting older can be a tough pill to swallow, but after some deep reflection, I am choosing to have a positive attitude.  I am in such a fantastic place in my life, I have an amazing homestead, family, friends and partner. I literally could not ask for a more blessed life.  I can’t wait to see what the coming year will bring, bring it on 29!

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

8 thoughts on “Concluding Year 28

  1. Thirty ain’t so bad and you’re still a spring chicken. (Sorry, I couldn’t help but make a chicken reference.) When you’re my age, you’ll long for your 30’s… not that I’m old or anything. 🙂

  2. Your last year in your twenties? What a child. I’m almost midway into sixties and I can tell you, with the right partner at your side, life gets better with age. Even though you tend to know your doctor better.

  3. Its been great finding your site! I like the tone amd style you have, its authentic and engaging. Happy birthday, enjoy the year ahead. You are set to have a great life, methinks, gauging by the things you have done so far. Hugs, Mame

Leave a Reply

