My Gypsy Soul

12 Comments

Contentment is a word that I have always addressed with slight apprehension.  I feared the delicate boundaries shared by contentment and complacency.

Even as a young child, I was kept awake at night with the whispers of fear that I would awake one day, significantly aged, and look back at my life with intense regret of making choices I was supposed to make, instead of those I desired to make.

Over the last 29 years, these whispers have somewhat guided my path, and for that, I am forever grateful.

I have always had a gypsy soul, my wild, red curls seem to sometimes reflect the essence of this, as they tend to go and do as they please.  Even though my passionate spirit has led me on ferocious adventures, I am positive, I have never let a significant amount of time pass without following the path that felt right to me.

This journey has not been an easy one.  There were times I disappointed and hurt loved ones for choosing to turn in a direction that they did not agree with.  Although these choices were desperately hard to make, I choose to live my life with no regrets.

I have been infinitely blessed with family and friends to hold my hand, and sometimes drag me, when I needed it the most.

Over the last year, I have felt my gypsy soul settle in a bit.  I have felt a conscious release of the unsettled ache in my bones I have felt for so long.  This is the first time in my life I have felt utterly complete and content.

From walking around the Chicken Palace to listening to the quiet grazing of the goats, my gypsy soul looks around slowly and I feel no desire to uproot and find a new path.

I am exactly who I am supposed to be, where I am supposed to be and with who I am supposed to be.  It is one of the most incredible experiences I have had so far.

Do you feel this same contentment in your life?

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

12 thoughts on “My Gypsy Soul

  1. I think there is tremendous humility and power in recognizing what satisfaction feels like. To grasp this at 29 means you have a receptor site for the good, and for the nourishing. So lovely to read your developing voice in all this!

  2. You know Red it is synchronicity that you would write about this. I too have always been a gypsy soul. I always look over the hill, wish to walk thru doors that are shut and I bore easily. When I had kids and a husband ,I referred to myself as a gypsy pulling a cart. (.love had nothing to do with it I chose the cart!!!). Now at 65 ,with a wonderful partner ,retired and a homestead full of animals and gardens, I realize that I am finally content to be where and how I am. I have wonderful memories and I wouldn’t trade my life for anyone else’s. I will still open doors and take trips but always coming home to what and who I have will be the best part of my travels. I have always loved being a gypsy. It is how new worlds are discovered.

  3. I am so glad to read this blog – you have had quite a journey this past year and I am happy you are feeling content. I too have chosen to step off certain paths and venture onto new paths during the past 2 years and people have not always agreed with my choices. I have found the people that do agree with my choices are my true friends and family:) My little slice of home is being built and (fingers crossed) will be done by October, while it is small it gives me a very big smile and happy feeling in my heart. I wish you all the best in your life and keep blogging – I love reading about your adventures on your homestead!

    • Thank you for reading Stephani! It sounds like you are on an amazing journey yourself. I commend you for standing up and making a hard choice and staying true to yourself, it is not easy! Congratulations on your house, that is so exciting and sounds like a great new beginning. Hope to hear more from you!

Leave a Reply

