Tornado of Life

4 Comments

My life has always seemed to be on fire with activity, responsibilities and adventure.  My schedule is challenging more often than not because my days, and nights, are crammed full of activities.  Over the last few years, as those of you who have been following the homestead for awhile know, my life has changed completely.  It has been non stop adventure, full of change, challenges and more love than I could imagine.

With my travel nurse schedule, sleep tends to be what I have to cut back on-not the best option, but the only one sometimes.  I can’t tell you how often I have been awoken behind the wheel by rumble strips or had to pullover and sleep in a parking lot because I couldn’t stay awake another minute on the hour and a half drive home in the mornings.  I am awake for 24 hours frequently during the week.  It has been an exhausting few weeks…months, well make that years!

The experience and financial aspects of traveling have been great, but my health has suffered from the lack of rest.  With all of this in mind, I have decided to take a job back with my home hospital after my current contract is finished next year.  I am thrilled to be back with my work family once again.  I have met some great folks on the road and I will definitely never forget them.

Neil and I are on the edge of a great adventure, one I can’t wait to share with you-so much exciting news to share soon!

Our house is weeks away from closing and it has been such a hassle to say the least.  The inspector found hundreds of issues (none which were found less than a year ago by a previous inspector-not to mention we gutted the house and renovated everything).

Luckily, the buyers chose 5 things they were adamant on us changing.  One of which was having to treat the well with chlorine.  Have you ever experienced this? We had to not use the water for 24 hours and then “run off” the chlorine.  This took almost 12 hours before the water didn’t violate your senses with chlorine.  Neil and I smelled like we had been swimming in a pool for days.

We also have to replace the laundry room floor, which Oliver had destroyed, which leaves us with juggling where Oliver will live until we move him, the goats and the chickens to my family farm.

We purchased a mini chicken coop, dog fencing and a solar energizer for the goat’s electric fence and everyone will be moving out to the farm very soon.  I have a feeling Oliver will be less than thrilled about his demotion from a house pig to a farm pig for awhile.

Neil and I found a great apartment complex to move into during this transitional time.  It will be fun to live the apartment life for awhile!

In between everything else, we are packing and moving things to a storage unit while we are both working crazy hours.

We have so much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving. We hope you and your family have a blessed Thanksgiving filled with great food, family, friends and laughter.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

 

4 thoughts on “Tornado of Life

  1. Whew! I get tired just reading about your busy schedule! Hope you have a little down time over Thanksgiving to be with family and friends-those with two legs as well as with four 🙂 Many blessings to you!

  2. Glad to hear that you have taken a job that will be closer – love reading about all your adventures in life. Poor Oliver – but he will get used to it. 🐖

Leave a Reply

