New Year, New Adventures

2 Comments

In my entire adult life, I cannot remember a time of being as ill as I have been the last few weeks.  Apparently my body was whole heartedly seeking revenge for the past 6 months of rarely getting more than 3 hours of sleep a day.

After two urgent care visits and nearly 4 weeks-I finally am getting back to feeling like myself.   I have dragged myself to work, no matter how my emotions or physical self felt.  When you are a nurse, this just comes with the territory.

I have pushed stretchers with a strained back, started IVs on patients who were more hydrated than I was, and done chest compression with a headache so intense I feared I would vomit on the poor dying patient-only adding to their mounting troubles.

However, I could not push through the demon illness that had abruptly knocked me down on my redheaded tail.  I called out of work twice which I never, ever, ever do.  When you are a travel nurse, there are no sick days and you end up paying the company back for the days you missed.  All around calling out is miserable and super expensive.

The last few weeks have been incredibly humbling.  The large feather tattoo on my right arm is a constant reminder of invincibility and strength for me, that no matter what is going on, I can fight through it, get through it and come out the other side stronger.  This biological warfare that was targeted on me, certainly made me feel otherwise.

I am down to the last three weeks of my travel assignment.  It has been such an interesting-and educational- experience to work in a strictly pediatric ER, but I am looking forward to rejoining my ER family and all the craziness that comes with that patient population in my home county once again.

The survey for our farmland is coming up soon and we are so excited to get this underway and officially be deeded the land.  Our last meeting with Schumacher is also coming up in the next two weeks.  In this meeting, we will finalize everything and hopefully soon after, begin the lot prep.

Building the farmhouse seems completely surreal for me.  Since I was a little girl, I have dreamed of owning a farm, having my own horses and tending to all the responsibilities living on a farm brings.  I can’t wait until construction begins and I watch my life long dream become a reality.

I hope this New Year is bringing many blessings and adventures so far for you and yours.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Adventures

  1. Wow, Sounds like you’ve had a tough few weeks, glad to hear you are on the mend. Prayers that January ends with good health and happy memories for you!!

Leave a Reply

