HR 3rd Anniversary

8 Comments

Yesterday marked the 3rd anniversary of Homestead Redhead.  It is strange to read the posts from January 2013 and know all of the challenges-and changes-that were ahead of me back then.

Take a look back at my first posts all those years ago (it sure seems like it anyway!)…January 2013 HR.

One of my very favorites posts of all time is Homestead Heritage.  I love thinking about the great grandfather I was never able to meet, but relate to so much.

I can only imagine what the next few years will hold for Homestead Redhead and my continued life journey.

There are such big events in the coming year, I am feeling a bit overwhelmed.

In a few weeks I am leaving my travel nurse position and taking a permanent weekend position back at the first hospital I ever worked in.

In a month, everything will be set to begin construction on our forever farm house.

In a few months, I will be flying to a new state, I am terrified of flying, to have a week long Alaskan adventure and come back as Neil’s wife.

In six months, I am forever saying goodbye to my twenties and taking on a whole new decade.

I have been guilty of always telling myself, “Just get through this and then things will settle down.”  Over the last few years, I am slowly coming to the conclusion (I can be slow sometimes) that maybe things won’t actually settle down for a long time…if ever.  Life is extremely hectic and the years seem to fly by before I can even catch my breath.

Usually quite the optimist, I am finding myself totally surprised at this realization, and even a little saddened.   I don’t want to work all the time, but I have to.  I don’t want to spend the money I worked so hard to earn moving heavy patients, getting yelled at by drug addicts and holding down screaming, spitting children, on credit card payments, medical bills and groceries.  life

I want to be free from responsibilities to people, places and things.  I want to wake up and spend the day braiding flowers into my curls on a blanket warm from the sun, gathering freshly laid eggs and riding around a green pasture on beautiful horse with a flowing mane, but I can’t.  Perhaps this is the final whips of youthful dreams evaporating before my ever aging self or perhaps I just needs some time off.

With my gypsy soul bound by the chains of obligation, I will continue to push forward one step at a time.  Maybe one day my gypsy life will outweigh the responsibilities of my current life.  Maybe one day I will have a life that isn’t so utterly exhausting.  “Maybe one day”, is what I am holding onto for dear life.

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “HR 3rd Anniversary

  1. Wow, has it really been three years? It sure doesn’t seem that long. I love reading about your adventures and I often feel like I’m right there with you. Thanks for allowing all of us to look through a window of your life. God bless you and may your adventures continue for many, many years to come. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on three years of intelligent, enthusiastic and candid blogging! You are a force of good, with a rare combination of vision, heart and industry. I love that you can dream and accept reality at the same time. If you can keep ahold of both in the years ahead, you will be able to live a deeply satisfying life, and if I am not mistaken, move visobly closer to your deepest goals.

    • Hey Mame! Thank you for one of the nicest compliments I have ever received. Those kind words made my whole day. I am so grateful to have you be a part of my journey. I pray for your health and continued healing ❤

  3. Had to chuckle when I read the remark about life settling down. In April 1992 we moved from a rental to a home we’d purchased. We both worked full time jobs and there was so much to be done on the property! There was no TV reception other than via cable; we opted to go without until ‘things settled down in the fall’. Like you, we found that life didn’t settle down, it just went off in different directions. It’s now 2016, we’ve been retired for over 10 years and still no TV but out lives are full. Glad to see you enjoy life one day at a time.

  4. The book Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff by Dr. Richard Carlson is great and very informative..

    On Sun, Jan 24, 2016 at 10:15 PM, homesteadredhead wrote:

    > homesteadredhead posted: “Yesterday marked the 3rd anniversary of > Homestead Redhead. It is strange to read the posts from January 2013 and > know all of the challenges-and changes-that were ahead of me back then. > Take a look back at my first posts all those years ago (it sure seem” >

Leave a Reply

