Moving In & Moving On

10 Comments

It has been a whirlwind of activity around these parts over the last two weeks, but we are finally living on our dream homestead.

As you all know, the team that helped us acquire this homestead was awful to work with.  After everything we went through, we showed up to closing with the amount we were told to bring.  When we arrived at the attorney’s office, we were told that there had been a mistake in the closing disclosure (I had already caught $2000 worth of mistakes prior to closing) and we now needed to pay another $700.

That whole situation was a nightmare from start to finish, but after begrudgingly going to get another certified check for $700, we handed it over and were finally given the keys to the rest of our lives.

From the moment I walked onto this property, it felt like home, and walking into the empty house for the first time, I was immediately content.  It was like I could finally take a deep breath from all the stress of the many failed homestead plans over the years and we were finally home.

This week has been nonstop moving boxes, nonstop sweating in this ridiculous North Carolina heat, and nonstop wandering around the house just talking to each other about how much we love it here.  We are so grateful to the friends who helped us move furniture, build awesome TV mounts and were a source of support to us during the whole process.

Next week we plan on building the pens for the goats, chickens and Oliver so everyone can finally be in the same place once again.  We currently have stuff (and creatures) at our apartment, a storage unit, our new house and my family’s farm.  All of which are in different cities!

We also managed to find time to put up an awesome barn wood ceiling in our bedroom.  We are so pleased with how it turned out.  All the wood is from old barns and buildings and I love just laying in bed looking at all the unique pieces and imagining the stories they must hold.

barnwoodceiling

We also inherited a lovely little kitty that came with the homestead.  We named her Maya, and she is super sweet and a great watch-cat.  All the dogs are terrified of her, it is hilarious to watch.

wp-1468088836770.jpg

On another note, after a few incidents at the current hospital I work in, I have decided to leave that ER full time, I will still be working at my part-time ER position, and begin a new journey as a nurse.

I interviewed for a position with a great insurance company this week and was offered the job the same day.  I am getting a raise, able to work full time from my new office at the Dream Homestead and will be working normal hours.  I will no longer have to put up with being physically and verbally assaulted at work or being told to cover my tattoos or put up my hair.

The company is also sending me to Florida for training in August.  I am ecstatic about this new opportunity and step in my career.  I will miss my coworkers greatly, but have an awesome homestead ya’ll can come visit anytime!

Stay tuned, there are plenty of new adventures to come as we get settled into the Dream Homestead!

Until next time…

FINALSIGNOFF

 

10 thoughts on “Moving In & Moving On

  1. Wow! What a beautiful ceiling! I’m an animal lover living vicariously through others on FB. lol. Sounds like you have it all under control!

Leave a Reply

